Cranberry Bread

cranberrybread

I have a habit of taking off random days in the summer to just be.

I’m not sure why but this confuses people I know greatly. I spent all weekend trying to explain to people why I need to have a solid 8 hour block of me time.

Because I just do, okay?

Cranberries are not seasonally appropriate, I know that. But I’ve had bags of them in my freezer for awhile (The Frugal Girl calls it the Scarcity Principle of cranberries). I knew that whatever I did on my day off would involve these berries, but I couldn’t decide what.

Can It Up for July is berries. Should I make jam? But that meant babysitting a canner. Muffins? Cranberry sauce to go with dinner?

I ended up settling for bread-in fact, one of The Frugal Girl’s recipes. I -thought- for some reason I was making cranberry pumpkin bread, and the fact that I wasn’t only hit me when I realized that I had not in fact put any pumpkin in this recipe.

I pretty much made the recipe as she has it, but I did add a dash of pumpkin spice and used a very loose set apple jam in place of the orange juice because I didn’t have any.

Notes: next time I would swap out some of the white sugar for brown, or just add it. I like the way it tastes but it verges on ‘breakfast bread’.

Cranberry Bread

From The Frugal Girl

2 cups flour (I used unbleached)
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
2 tablespoons hot water
1/2 cup orange juice (I used a half pint jar of runny apple jam, almost syrup-I thought I was opening orange)
2 tablespoons melted butter
1 cup cranberries (I used whole)

1. Combine flour through salt in a bowl.

2. Combine egg through berries in another.

3. Add egg mixture to the first bowl and mix till just combined.

4. Bake in a loaf pan at 350 for 50-55 minutes.

Linked to-

Lady Behind the Curtain     That Suburban Momma

About katie

So there was a girl who once wanted to handsew but got sidetracked by yarn instead...
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cranberry Bread

  1. Random days off are the best. I refer to them as ‘mental health days’. The cranberry bread looks amazing!

  2. Pingback: Cranberry Bread | Horrific Knits | sustainabledude

Leave a Reply

