Summer Beauty Routine

So I ended up taking a small blogging vacation. I think that my depression kicked in, and I think that I got lucky and made it through with only minor problems. But it sucked a lot of my energy and interest in doing anything more involved than looking at XOVain. Seriously. Don’t ask me what my house looks like right now.

Reading all these beauty articles has me back in beauty mode a month early. It’s been a fairly cool summer and I feel like I can get away with a lot more this year than in years where we’re praying for rain. Honestly, it’s not radically different than my winter routine other than my skincare changes.

Also, one of the things I read on Make Up Talk yesterday pleased me greatly. This is forecasted to be the Fall of the orange eye. Bring it on! I love orange eyes-at the time of writing I’m wearing a shimmery orange leaning copper applied wet so it’s ORANGE and amazing.

Forgive the fuzzy selfie. I still don’t wear cosmetics every day in the summer and this is one of the rare photos where I actually applied anything.

selfie

-I start out with a layer of moisturizer, I like the St. Ives collagen moisturizer, I’ve used it for years (same as winter).

-Then I mix foundation into more moisturizer in the palm of my hand and apply that as a tinted moisturizer (winter routine). What I’ve done recently is mixed a fairly large batch in a quarter pint mason jar and left that in my bathroom, it’s both less messy and faster.

What I’ve been doing recently is using a foundation brush to apply foundation to my undereye area and the bridge of my nose. Then I apply a lighter layer of foundation on my t-zone, my cheekbones and sometimes my jaw line.

And yes I need to get my foundation rematched. One of my foundations leans too yellow and the other leans too red. Eventually I’ll get around to getting it rematched.

OR

If it’s really hot or I’m just feeling particularly lazy I’ll just moisturize, apply Tarte mineral powder in light and then apply ELF color correcting powder with a large powder brush.

-I prime my eyelids with Monistat chafing gel (same as winter). I really love this stuff.

-Then comes mascara-normally black-brown or brown. Normally just my top lashes, I don’t have the patience to deal with the bottoms (same).

-I’ve been getting more adventurous with my eye shadows recently, though all I’m wearing is light pink with a mid pink liner in that photo-not that you can tell.

-I line my top lashes with eye shadow with a pointy q-tip style applicator. They come something like 75 to a package. I get them from Target. I don’t line my waterline, I hate how it feels.

-I very rarely use blush or bronzer, and I hate the feeling of having stuff on my lips. I also can’t be bothered to do anything about my brows. Consider that my great beauty confession for the day.

Skin care-

-Like I mentioned I use St. Ives in the morning and then after I wash my face at night. Once or twice a week I’ll oil with coconut or olive oil as well. If I’m planning on spending a lot of time outside I’ll use clear zinc as a sunblock, otherwise I just use an umbrella. I did still manage to get a fair amount of color this year (not what I was seeking), which is part of the reason none of my foundation is working quite right.

-I’m still in love with wet wipes.

-Three or four times a year I’ll oil my hair as well. I soak my dry hair with coconut oil, let it sit for 20 to 30 minutes and then wash it out.

-I still deep clean with apple cider vinegar. I’m looking into honey masks and sugar scrubs as well.

About katie

So there was a girl who once wanted to handsew but got sidetracked by yarn instead...
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

