Motivation

me2

I keep finding myself in an odd place, at least for me.

I’ve become people’s fitspo-and I’m not sure how I feel about that.

Somewhere around June I took up walking fairly regularly, somewhere in the range of 30 to 90 minutes five days a week. The thing that got me to do this was donuts.

There’s a Dunkin Donuts at the end of the complex I work in, the exact opposite end of my complex. I timed the walk and found that I can get to Dunkin, get a donut and coffee, and walk back in an hour. Listen, I know some people could do it faster but I’m in business casual dress and there’s geese. Attack geese.

At some point people started stopping me and talking about how amazing it is that I’m doing it. Or how they wish that they were doing it and how I make them feel guilty that they don’t do-which always makes me feel awkward. A conversation that I had yesterday at work, for example:

Individual: “I saw you walking by the side of the road today.:

Me: “Yeah, I do it most days if it’s not raining or too hot. My bus gets here really early [unspoken: and that’s where the coffee lives.]”

Him: “Oh, I think that it’s great that you’re doing it. Really, I do.”

…Thanks. I guess.

So this morning I took myself on a nice long walk. I was out for over an hour. I guess I would like to say that I was going out for the joy of doing something for my health, when in reality I was making the rounds at the drugstores to see what was on sale and if the Halloween displays were out yet. It’s a little strange telling people that you’ve taken up exercise for donuts and cosmetics, but you know.

Leave a Reply

