Mulled Apples

Are you sick of apples yet?

I’m still working with apples because as it turns out, people really like the cyser style fruit that I started making last month…I went through 12 jars at one event.

I’ll let that sink in

If it makes you feel better, most of them went home sealed.

What that event told me, though, was that I needed a non-alcoholic stand in for drivers, minors, and people that just don’t want a boozy treat. I wanted something that was just as high flavored and dynamic. I wanted something that was low sugar but slightly sweet as well, in case I or a loved one wanted to serve them with meat or as a side dish.

The answer is apple cider. One of the great things about canning fruits like apples and pears is that they’re high enough in acid that in theory you could can them in water-it’s just most people find them sort of flat like that.

*I like my canned fruit on the heavier end of spiced so I left the mulling spices in the jars. Clove especially is a really strong flavor, so if you want a less intense project use a spice bag and pull the spices before you add the cider to the jars.

Mulled Apples

1 to 2 cups water

1 to 2 cups cider

apples and pears, peeled and chopped

Mulling spices-to taste, I used roughly 3 teaspoons left in the cider

Note: I alternate between hot and raw pack with apples and honestly haven’t really noticed a difference in quality. People claim that hot pack makes a better product, but I haven’t seen that. Use which ever method suites you best.

Bring the cider, water, and spices to a boil and let boil for several minutes (roughly 5 minutes). If using hot pack, add your fruit and let boil for 5 minutes.

If using raw pack, add fruit to 1/2 inch of the top of prepped, sterilized jars. Add hot cider and remove bubbles, then retop with cider.

If using hot pack, fill to within 1/2 inch of the top of prepped jars.

*This amount of fluid gave me 3 pint jars. Scale up or down for larger or smaller yield.

Process pints and quarts for 20 minutes.

Stop by and link up at Fall Into the Holidays!

Linked to-
The Chicken Chick
Create With Joy
the prairie homestead
the dedicated house
memories by the mile
2 crochet hooks
adorned from above
frugally sustainable
cultured palate
2 comments

Leave a Reply

