The Boys of Summer {Spring Through Your Stash}

boys of summer

I fell in love this yarn. I really should not have fallen in love with $13 a skein organic cotton yarn. This was the first 100% cotton yarn that I enjoyed knitting with in years.

The actual skein though? Who’s idea was this? Winding this ball was one of the most awkward experiences I’ve had with yarn, probably ever. That was horrible. Love the yarn, hate the way that it’s put up for sale.

I’ve started working on my summer veils. All of my head covers are wools or acrylics, with the exception of a pile of bandanas. I want a wider range of options for spring and summer wrapping-so cotton it is. I love this hat. It’s so bumpy and goofy. And it came out loose enough I can get an underwrap layered under it.

boys of summer 1

Boys of Summer

1 skein Classic Elite Sprout-organic cotton, 109 yards a skein, natural

10 1/2 dpns

This was just a bare bones, basic, formulaic hat pattern from one of those books of plain patterns that you can mod yourself. I didn’t mod it because the yarn knits up with so much texture.

The hat’s a little too loose without an underwrap but I haven’t worn it with one. If it’s still too loose I might reknit it. Maybe.

spring through your stashThis year’s spring Knit-a-long is actually a Craft-a-long. Whatever your favorite craft is, it’s welcome!

The only requirement is that we’re trying to work down stashed materials. Every project that you work on for the CAL should incorporate stashed materials, the more the better. You can purchase materials as necessary, but the majority of your project(s) should use materials you already own.

Beyond that, have fun! Knit, spin, crochet, paper craft, sew…whatever moves you! You can follow along in the comments or link up on the Spring Through Your Stash posts up every week. The Craft-a-long will run through the first day of summer.

Linked to-

sunny simple life

vmg206

carolyn’s homework

memories by the mile

mamaldiane

the walker fireside chats

adorned from above

mom’s test kitchen

the tasty fork

family home and life

7 comments

  1. I don’t mind the I Love This Cotton yarn from Hobby Lobby, it’s pretty soft and I enjoy using it for things for my young girls. But organize cotton sounds amazing, I would only wear organic cotton if I could afford it!

  2. This sounds like a fun idea for a Craft Along! I need to go through my fabric stash and actually start making stuff with it… instead of going to Joann’s every weekend…. Stopping by from Hump Day Happenings.

Leave a Reply

