Haunted Western New York- The White Lady of Durand-Eastman Park (Rochester)

hauntedwesternnewyork

The detailing of Rochester’s white lady intrigues me- it’s both a horribly vague story, and one with very specific detailing.

The ghost is rumoured to haunt Durand-Eastman Park, near the Rochester-Irondequoit border. The legend states that one night the white lady’s daughter went missing and she began to search the area along with her two german shepards. By the end of the night it became apparent that her daughter was lost and in her grief she threw herself into Lake Ontario. Since that time, the white lady haunts the park where she searched.

The cause of her daughter’s disappearance varies from variation to variation; the reasoning ranges from rape and murder to simply having vanished with a strange man. Whatever the reasoning, the legend states that a man was the primary motivation-which the ghost seems aware of because the legend states that this white lady and her dogs has been known to attack men.

There’s two things that I find intriguing about this story: the dogs and the attacks. First, while ghost dogs are a fairly common element, it’s not all that common to hear about ghost animals as part of a wider haunting. Ghost animals tend to be a stand-alone element (my house has a ghost cat, I saw a demon dog with red eyes on the road, that sort of thing). Second, it’s not common to find a violent white lady. They may be a fairly sentient haunting in that they do seem to react to the environment, but aren’t normally aggressive.

Edit 5/1/2016, to address the dogs questioned in the comments:

It has been a few years since I posted this entry [though I am surprised that I have it up without sources], but here is a fuller version of the story involving the dogs. I’m not claiming that it’s the ‘real’ version, but that it does pre-date this entry: http://weirdus.com/states/new_york/local_legends/white_lady_castle/index.php

 

 

8 comments

    1. Hauntings of the Finger Lakes and The Haunted History Trail of NYS has been featured in the Rochester Business Journal April 22 issue featuring Historic Palmyra’s Wm Phelps General Store and Palmyra Historical Museum. Also an AP writer came to Historic Palmyra and featured these haunted museums in Palmyra NY. Want to hear and maybe see some real spirits? Come on down to Historic Palmyra’s Museums. Call (315) 597 6981 to schedule your hunt!!!

  1. I used to live at Durand Eastman park for years, and would always go for walks with my family. Sometimes, I would just wander into the park, aimlessly, just to go for a hike. I was eye to eye with a deer, but I have not seen the White Lady. I have heard many screams late at night, which made me call the Monroe County Sheriff a few times, but have never seen the White Lady. Poor Lass.

  2. A lifelong resident and visitor to this park. I’ve never heard of the dogs as part of the legend. I worked many midnight shifts at the County treatment plant in the park and have never seen her. Her alleged “castle” is an old railway station.

  3. Her old castle was actually used at war time as a lookout over Lake Ontario as boats came in from Canada. 1972-1979 was the years my friends and I hung out there. We never saw her but stupidly enough we used to look for her. Love hearing old stories!

  4. Have lived in area for my whole life never heard of the dogs part. Used to go searching in woods for her never any luck.

Leave a Reply

