Fluffy Versus the Bloody Tangelo Bars

I’m not sure why that photo uploaded so small…I’m a knitter, not a computer expert.

Anyway,  I think that in my top 10 food list citrus is near the top. There’s very few that don’t agree with me, other than grapefruit. Grapefruit and I don’t really mix well.

I have actual, concrete memories surrounding citrus- going to the groves when my grandmother was still alive, the first time I bought a blood orange, trying to convince people that yes, you eat kumquats whole.

It’s probably pretty obvious that I’m nursing a bad pinterest habit right now. The thing is, other than my horror art and imaginary, amazing, and useful (for set dressing in my often mentioned but never to see the light of day novel) house boards, I use the pins.

I’m cooking my way through pinterest.

I don’t remember how I found it, but I found a pin to Nutmeg Nanny’s blood orange bars.

I’ve never made lemon bars. For that matter, I’m not sure if I’ve even eaten one before. But a dessert based on blood oranges, which are my favorites of my favorite type of fruit (other than grapes) has to be tried. And since you only use the juice, even at the prices Wegman’s wants for them, it wasn’t that much of a hit to my budget to get them.

…Except it turns out that I can’t bake lemon bars. I think. Since I’ve never had them before I’m not sure what went wrong- if something even went wrong. I like them, they taste good, but I don’t think they’re quite right.

Mid won’t eat them at all.

I used a combination of tangelo and blood orange juice for the curd. That was really good; if nothing else I know now that I like that flavor combination.

Source: nutmegnanny.com via Katie on Pinterest

Linked To:

Trendy Treehouse

One comment

Leave a Reply

