Solar Dyeing in a Mason Jar

It hit 90 on Sunday. And it was 85 yesterday.

Ugh.

The upside is we finally got thunderstorms rolling off the lake. My teeth thank me for that fact.

With it being that warm though, it means that my car is baking (please, gods, don’t leave pets or children in your car in weather like this- if it’s hot enough to dye yarn, it’s not healthy for anything. PSA complete). A baking car = perfect locale  to solar dye.

Last summer I tried solar dyeing in a tupperware bowl. I went with a mason jar this time, quart size with a regular mouth. A wide mouth jar would probably make putting the yarn in the jar and taking it out easier, but all I have are wide mouth pints.

This is the orange batch for Ripley. I wrap a very, very loose ball (I wrap around 4 fingers) and place in jar. I can get a ball weighing somewhere in the 1 to 1.5 ounce range into the jar comfortably. I don’t presoak for simplicity’s sake, and it’s going to be in there awhile anyway.

The dyepot is 3 packets pina koolaide, 1 packet tropical punch, and 4 drops yellow. The pina was too yellow, but the tropical punch made it too red. It’s going to be more red orange than I wanted but I’m okay with that.

After a day in the car, it’s starting to exhaust. The dyepot’s gotten lighter and milkier.

Mid built a shelf for Seamus’ hatch a few summers ago and it gets direct sun. For day 3, I put the jar on the shelf…

…and wrapped it in Clarity (Seamus has UV filters). Might as well bake the thing.

End of day 3. A fully exhausted dyepot. Dye water will occassionally go milky like that when you’re working with koolaide.

So I dumped the water out and gently pulled the ball out of the jar, and rinsed with cool water. I wouldn’t use a wool that’s got a tendency to easily felt- no Shetland or the like. Use something that you would be okay with slightly fulling or a rougher wool (or a wide mouth jar).

Dyed wool drying in a strainer. Once the yarn is dry and skeined I’ll post finished photos.

 

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

the blackberry vine

a savory feast

adorned from above

gingersnap crafts

mom’s test kitchen

the tasty fork

family home and life

handy man crafty woman

bacon time

practically functional

domestic superhero

diana rambles

pickled okra

artsy-fartsy

7 comments

Leave a Reply

