Harvest: Apple-Pear Jelly

I am very, tentatively, hoping that the break in the heat is permanent. I am hoping that the temperture isn’t going to suddenly notice that it’s been hovering around very early Autumn and not skyrocket back up to three degrees from the sun.

I am doing another circular swap on bpal.org after taking a rather long break from them- the last I did was the tacky ornament swap before Christmas. I had been planning on canning a small batch of jelly/jam to tap into for this swap, and put the rest aside for Christmas presents/door prizes. I had been planning on waiting until closer to the end of August to do this.

But then I stepped outside to do a grocery run- and it was bright but cool. And everything was all golden and hazy. And Food in Jars had a post earlier this month on how to write a small batch jam recipe. Then I found that I had pinned Sugarcrafter’s Apple-Pear Jam recipe eons ago…

It didn’t help that Tops had both sugar and pears on sale. Well, let me rephrase- pears were at normal people prices. The apples were still $2.50 a pound but Price Rite has them at $.99 at their most expensive…

I did BWB process these jars. If you are not familiar with how to boiling water bath process food for canning, please make sure to read over a source like the Ball Blue Book or the National Center for Home Food Preservation. Canning is not particularly difficult, but it’s also not a process that you should take lightly. This recipe assumes you know the basics of boiling water bath canning. If you are not comfortable with canning, this recipe can be stored in the freezer for 1 year.

So here we go.

Apple-Pear Jam

Adapted from Sugarcrafter, Ball, and Food in Jars

4 2/3 cups chopped fruit (2 1/2 pounds of mixed pears and apples gave me this volume)

2 1/3 cups sugar

2 tablespoons bottled lemon juice*

5 tablespoons loose pectin (I use Ball’s loose pectin in a jar)

*This is a fairly sweet jam. I added the lemon because people seemed to wobble a little on the acid levels in the average pear, so I added it for the acid boost- but I almost would test it and see if you want more lemon. Or use tarter apples; I used Galas for this batch.

**This batch gave me 3 quarter pint jars and 2 half pints with about 1/8 of a pint left for a fridge test.

Prep jars, lids, and rings for canning.

Peel and chop fruit finely. I chopped mine much finer than I normally do for anything and still ended up with a chunkier jam than I would have liked.

Add fruit, pectin, and lemon to a large saucepan. Bring to a boil hard enough that it can’t be stirred down, stirring frequently to constantly (I boiled mine over medium; if you trust yourself more boil over medium high to high). Occasionally remove from heat and use a potato masher to mash fruit down.

When the fruit is boiling hard enough that you can’t stir it down, remove from heat and add all of the sugar. Return to heat, and allow to boil hard for 1 minute.

Fill prepped jars leaving 1/4 inch headspace and work a chopstick around the sides to remove air bubbles. Seal and process for 10 minutes. Jars are shelf stable for up to a year if properly sealed.

Or, you can fill jars and freeze for up to a year, or leave in the fridge for up to 3 weeks.

(Posted to the Frugally Sustainable Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways Blog Hop Posted to Rural Housewife’s Canning Blog Hop Back for Seconds Social)

get your craft on

6 months ago- Beautiful/horrible

2 comments

Leave a Reply

