Funeral Food

Revised 5/3/2013-I took a better photo!

I know. I know.

The picture is terrible. I think this stuff is so amazeballs that I had to take a photo after the fact, in the dark. And I forgot to use a filter (my ahem trick for when my lighting’s horrible, I just make it retro…)

And yes it should be obvious that I actually cook, and I actually use my cutting boards to cut things.

True confessions time! You can revoke my food blogging rights after this entry.

Anyway.

Funeral Mac and Cheese (aka My Mom’s Amazing Comfort Food Mac and Cheese)

I grew up in a large Polish family. Part of being Polish, at least the way we did it, was that in times of crisis- No One Else Will Make Sure You Are Eating.

What this means is that everyone descends on the household with pounds and pounds of food, to make sure that the household is eating. Because it’s not like everyone else in the family is going to think to do it. So of course everyone does, to the tune of 20 pounds of food at a go.

What it means that at every funeral, you get pounds and pounds of baked homemade mac and cheese.

That you eat with sugar and hot sauce.

Honestly? I’m with the family tradition all the way. Except I don’t have a frakking clue where the sugar and the hot sauce came from, but it’s still the way I eat homemade mac and cheese.

On one hand this isn’t much of a recipe so much as a guideline, but there are things that you have to do. You have to bake the pasta dry. You have to use Velveta. But, on the other hand, it makes it so wonderfully easy to scale up for a crowd, or down for a grad school apartment. My only deviation off of my mom’s recipe is that she only uses Velveta in hers, but I use at least one other cheese when I make it.

Mac and Cheese

1 lb shaped pasta, like macaroni or rotini

1 small box Velveta or 1/2 large box

at least 1 cup other cheese

Milk to cover pasta

Preheat oven to 350.

In an oven safe dish, place all of the pasta. Sprinkle pasta with the assorted cheese (not the Velveta). In this batch I used taco style cheese and 1/2 a block of semi-soft sheep cheese.

Cut the Velveta into slabs so that as much of the pasta is covered with cheese slabs as you can get it. All of the pasta doesn’t have to be covered, but get as much as possible.

Add milk to just the top of the pasta- don’t cover all of the pasta or the milk won’t absorb completely.

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes then remove from oven and gently stir so that the cheese is distributed. Return to oven for another 30 minutes.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

