Operation Pickle Buffalo

We finally got a crappy weekend weatherwise. I say that in a year when it’s been almost too nice; people are wandering around with a glazed expression begging for rain. I will gladly sacrifice pretty artistic photos for crappy lighting and rain.

I wish I was joking.

Since it was finally under 105 degrees (again, I wish I was joking), I took the opportunity to run to Niagara County Produce and pick up cucumbers. Many, many cucumbers…

I didn’t use all of my free jars. Just most of them…

*all with apple cider vinegar-

dilly beans- dill pickle recipe with 1/2 tea crushed red pepper

jalapenos- dill pickle brine, no seasoning (last batch overpowered everything i tried to use the peppers for)

double hot- dill w/ crushed red pepper and jalapenos

refridgerator- dill w/ crushed red pepper

dill- dill, no garlic

spicy dill- dill w/ crushed red pepper

Spicy Dill Brine-brine makes 2 pints with brine left over

adapted from The Complete Book of Small Batch Preserving

*cucumbers- 4 good sized pickling cucumbers gave me 2 pints of pickles, pretty consistently throughout this batch

2 cups apple cider vinegar

2 cups water

2 tablespoons canning salt

1 tablespoon sugar

Per Jar- 1/2 to 1 Pint Jar

1 1/2 tea dill seed

1/2 tea crushed red pepper

1 clove garlic

add brine ingredients to a stainless steel pot and bring to a boil.

Add dill, garlic, and pepper to bottom of each prepped jar. Cold pack with cucumbers, making sure to pack tightly. Add brine to within 1/2 inch of top of prepped jar and work a chopstick between sides of jar and cucumbers. Add lid and ring; bwb process for 10 minutes.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

titi craft

create with joy

nifty thrifty things

my mixing spoon

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

