Harvest-Habanero Hot Sauce

One of my co-workers decided to grow peppers this year.

He didn’t have any idea how many peppers to expect from each plant, so he planted a lot of them.

Habanero plants seem to produce a lot of peppers…

I adapted this recipe from the National Center for Home Food Preservation. The original called for Serranos, but I had a habanero problem. You could swap out all or some of the habaneros for a much less intense pepper. I also threw the batch into the crock pot for the first cooking because for one, I had things to do that afternoon, and two, I wasn’t certain that other than my soup pots I had a pot big enough for that much fluid. If you have a pot large enough, bring the mixture to a boil and simmer for 35 minutes.

Hot Sauce

8 cups canned crushed tomatoes
4 cups apple cider vinegar
1 ½ cups chopped hot peppers
2 tea canning salt
2 table mixed pickling spices

bottled lemon juice

In a medium to large crock pot, combine all ingredients. Set to high and let cook for 4-6 hours.

At the end of the cooking period, set up your jars for canning.

Place sauce into a pot and bring to a boil. Boil for 15 minutes.

Into each jar, place lemon juice- 1 table to a pint, 1/2 table to a half pint, 1 1/2 tea per quarter pint.

Fill jars, leaving ¼ inch headspace. Process for 15 minutes.

Makes 7-8 half pints

Notes

This makes a fairly thick sauce. I added the lemon juice because I wasn’t sure what the longer cooking time would do to the acidity of the final project. If you’re cooking on the stove, the lemon juice isn’t necessary.

Posted to here

5 comments

  1. Looks good. We have loads of habaneros, and we are afraid to eat them because my dad, who is very macho when it comes to peppers, won’t touch them. My husband keeps giving them away to people at work. Was this sauce really hot? Would you recommend using these peppers again? Also, it says use canned tomatoes, would 8 cups of fresh crushed work just as well? Thanks!

    1. Hi!

      I would personally use habaneros again, but I also like my food on the hot to very hot side, but you could swap half of them out for a milder pepper. I like the level of heat this sauce has. As for a tomato swap, it should work but if you’re looking to can it with fresh tomatoes, I would read up on canning tomatoes first. If you’re going to use the sauce fresh or freeze it there’s no problem with swapping them out.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Looking for a way to use my Habanero. This looks interesting, still I am not sure about the pickling spices. Also you didnt mention if it was good or not, What do you serve it on/with?

    1. you could leave the pickling spices out, if you wanted. dried spices don’t really change ph. I like it, I use it for most everything I use tobasco sauce for- I use it on chicken and in chili mostly.

Leave a Reply

