The Creature From the Black Lagoon

True confession- this is the first time that I’ve actually seen this movie.

I have to wonder how many films I’m going to see during classic movie month that falls into this catagory.

This is a fun film. I guess that’s why a creature feature like this has stood the test of time- I will admit that I found this film to have an undercurrent of much more mature themes than I had originally given it credit for. I was particularly amused by the publish or perish mentality that’s rather ruefully mentioned; I feel your pain, buddy.

There’s also a certain innocence to this film that I find refreshing. I can certainly appreciate the cynicism that shows up in later horror with regards to science (and of course, some of the other classics) but the characters go about their lives with a wide-eyed optimism that’s an enjoyable departure from the pieces I normally watch.

And of course there’s the Creature- what’s not to love about a man in a rubber fishman suit? Sometimes I wish we’d go back to tying fins onto lizards and calling them giant dinosaurs, just for a change of pace.

6 months ago- Sunday Legends-Butter Lambs and Dyngus Day

Leave a Reply

