Turkey Bake

[11/8/2014-this recipe will be rephotographed!]

My dad sent us home with a gallon sized ziplock full of turkey when we went home for Christmas last week.

It was very generous, but I was left with the task of trying to come up with a use for it. Soup? Sandwiches? I’ve been trying to do a long term menu for the past week or so, and am trying to cook at least one large meal a week so we can have leftovers to eat off of for at least a couple of days.

I settled on a turkey casserole for Sunday’s large meal. I started out with this recipe because it didn’t have cream of something or other as a base- but then promptly undid all my dreams of clean eating by using a can of turkey gravy I needed to use up. Use leftover homemade gravy or a white sauce if you would rather. I used an assortment of vegetables I had in the fridge, so there’s peppers, mushrooms, and baby spinach in this dish. Use whatever you would like to use. I bet this would even be good with a base of leftover stuffing instead of rice.

Left-Over Turkey and Rice Bake

3 to 4 cups cooked rice

3 to 4 cups shredded cooked turkey

3 oz baby spinach

about 2 cups assorted chopped vegetables

1 can turkey gravy

1 1/2 cup cheddar cheese

1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

1/2 cup panko bread crumbs

Preheat oven to 350

In a cake pan or pyrex baking dish place the rice along bottom. Toss vegetables with spinach, then layer over the rice. Cover the vegetables with the turkey, then pour gravy over dish. Layer cheddar, panko, and parmesan over the top, and bake for 20 to 25 minutes. Let sit 5 minutes, then serve.

Also…this. Be warned, I’ve been doing OT all week and my house is trashed.

And cameras hate me. Always have.

Stop by and link up to Fall Into the Holidays!

Linked to-

whipperberry

flamingo toes

i should be mopping the floor

call me pmc

the chicken chick

Leave a Reply

