My 28th Birthday Cake, and Koolaide Eggs

Blood Orange Spice Cake

1 box spice cake mix, or your favorite spice cake recipe

1 half pint jar overly thin/syrupy jam (optional-use ¾ to 1  cup water instead) (I used my blood orange honey jelly)

1 half pint jar canned oranges

3 eggs

½ cup oil

I wanted to do something new and exciting for my birthday cake this year but after last year’s run in with the bloody tangerine bars and an exceptionally rough March I fell back on a recipe that I knew I liked-my spiced orange cupcake recipe.

It’s also time for me to start thinking about emptying out my jars so I can fill them with new, yummy spring stuff. My blood orange jelly never really did set all the way, so I decided to amp the orange in my cupcakes and made a sheet cake with a jar of canned Cara Caras in orange juice and a partial jar of the blood orange jelly. I used the orange juice and the jelly syrup in place of the water.

The recipe is straight forward, and isn’t really a recipe. Follow the instructions on the box but add the jelly and juice in place of the added water. If you wanted to change up the flavor profile, I bet this would be nice with thinned berry jam, frozen berries, and a lemon cake mix.

Last year’s cake was actually a tray of mini cakes-blood orange mini cakes.

(And I am recycling a photo-those are my home canned oranges. I made this late Easter afternoon and it was already a fairly gray day.)

I also tried the koolaide dyed egg trick. I hard boiled 6 eggs (which was what I had in the house) and soaked them in cherry koolaide out of my dye stash-3 eggs per package, with 3 eggs each to these rather large salsa jars that I’ve been stockpiling. I’ve been picking out salsa for Mid in these large jars because frankly I want the jars for fridge preservation later. They did dye…but came out sort of orange.

Linked to-

addicted to recipes     stonegable    sumo’s sweet stuff

skip to my lou     this gal cooks     making the world cuter

sew can do     today’s creative     ginger snap crafts

adorned from above     frugally sustainable     lady behind the curtain

trendy treehouse     back for seconds     mandatory mooch

a creative princess     whipperberry     little house in the suburbs

too much time

One comment

Leave a Reply

