Pinterest Made Me Do It-Mississippi Roast

According to weather.com, we’ve almost hit the monthly average for rain in April already. I’m not going to dare complain after last year’s drought, but it’s making it hard to get food photos. I suppose I could wait until it’s supposed to be sunny to cook, but I feel like that’s a little silly. If nothing else, the tree proves that it is in fact raining.

I’ve decided to start cooking my way through the stuff I have pinned on Pinterest, and telling you how I feel about it. I’m hoping to tie it into my Empty Your Jars series and use the stuff I’m prepping or canning.

The first recipe I’m highlighting is the Mississippi roast recipe that I keep seeing everywhere on Pinterest. The blog I’m linking you to isn’t the blog that I used, but I can’t actually find the original pin I found. The recipe seems pretty consistent across blogs though.

Mississippi Roast (original recipe, via The Supermom Chef)

Chuck Roast

1 package dry ranch seasoning

1 package dry au ju seasoning

1 stick butter

peppercini peppers

Place roast into a crockpot. Add dry seasonings, then add stick of butter on top of roast. Add the peppers around the butter. Cook on low 6-8 hours.

Mississippi Roast-my version

3 lbs venison roasts

1 stick butter

2 tbl ranch mix

1 package brown gravy mix

2 peppers’ worth fridge pickles

Place roast into a crockpot. Add dry seasonings, then add stick of butter on top of roast. Add the peppers around the butter. Cook on low 6-8 hours.

My notes-

-This gets better after it sits overnight. It may be a meal I make the day ahead and then reheat.

-I used a brown gravy packet because I misremembered the recipe.

-I used the venison because I had it in the freezer. I was going to use chuck because I had it. Emphasis on had. I seem to have managed to loose a chuck roast somewhere.

-If you use venison, definitely use the butter. It adds back the moisture that you’re loosing from using a much leaner cut than chuck.

-I’m glad that I didn’t use a commerical ranch mix. It would have been way too salty that way.

-Obviously, the jalapenos are much spicier than the original recipe. That’s fine for this household.

-I like it as a base recipe, but I thought that it needed something. I’m not a fan of pot roasts in general though, and one of my facebook friends suggested rosemary. I’ll try it next time.

One comment

Leave a Reply

