Dairy Free Basic White Bread

I went to make bread the other day…and realized I used all the milk to make a cake. Whoops. I did use my Kitchenaide, since I’m horrible with hand kneading bread.

I did some digging, and after some recipe comparisons, this is the loaf that I ended up making:

Dairy Free Basic White Bread

4-5 cups white flour (what I had in the house)

1/4 cup sugar (one recipe called for 2 tbl sugar or honey, and the other called for 1/3 of cup sugar)

1/2 tea to 1 tea salt (I admit to eyeballing it because I forgot it until the last 1/2 cup of flour. One recipe called for 1/2 tea, the other 1 tea. I will admit that while the first recipe is my staple bread recipe, I find it on the bland side).

2 cups warm water

1 tbl active yeast

Dissolve the sugar into the water in the Kitchenaide bowl. Sprinkle in yeast and let proof for 5 minutes. Add first 2 cups of water and knead with a dough hook for 4 minutes. Then add in flour at 1/2 cup at a time, kneading for 2 minutes after each addition, until the dough is both smooth to the touch (not sticky) and clears the side of the bowl in a clump.

*Just knead until it’s smooth, not dry. You’ll have overkneaded it if it’s dry to the touch.

I let the dough rise, in the bowl, in a warm oven (turned off but warm) for 2 hours. Turn out of the bowl and shape loaf, then let rise in loaf pan for another hour.

Bake at 375 for half an hour. You can oil the loaf if you want, I do it if I remember to.

Linked to-

the gingerbread blog     be different act normal     it’s overflowing

nifty thrifty things     create with joy    this gal cooks

Leave a Reply

