Pinterest Made Me Do It-Creamy Potato Soup

I love soup. Soup’s one of my fallback meals and I seem to have made a pot of something at least once a week for the last six months. Normally it’s taco soup because Mid begs for it but sometimes you get sick of beans…and have a ten pound bag of onions that you bought because you were dazzled by the thought of onions for $.39 a pound.

I have a confession though. I hate, hate, hate French Onion soup. So when I found this recipe on Pinterest, I jumped at it. Especially because of its lack of dairy. We’re not anti-dairy in this household but I don’t always have it in fridge either.

And I got to pull out my immersion blender. Always a plus.

The original recipe is here.

My changes-

2 onions

1 potato

3 cups water

1 beef buillon cube

thyme and nutmeg

Finely chop potato and onions. Smother for 10 minutes in a covered stockpot. Add a dash or two of nutmeg and a large pinchful of thyme. Add water and buillon and bring to a boil. Boil at least 5-10 minutes, then use immersion blender to cream the soup (you can transfer to a conventional blender, just be careful).

My thoughts:

It should probably be obvious to anyone who likes french onion soup that this is going to taste like french onion soup. It does. I…didn’t want it to taste like french onion soup, so if I end up making it again I’m going to use different broth.

Linked to-

the chicken chick     sew chatty     stonegable

5 comments

  1. I tried to make potato and leek soup and it seemed pretty good until I blended it up. I then realised I didn’t use enough stock and it turned out like mashed potato. I am determined to make it once again and master it !

Leave a Reply

