Triple Chocolate Muffins

bowl

I have things in my ktichen that are used so often that they don’t have a storage place.

I was thinking about this while I was making these muffins. My Faberware spatula is looking a little worse for wear, and lately, I’ve been using it at least a dozen times a day. I have one yellow bowl that keeps cycling from sink to table and back again, and my one cup liquid measuring cup just sort of hangs out in my dish drain between uses.

Having these things out all the time helps when I decide to bake suddenly. I decided I wanted to make chocolate muffins, and after digging out the basic muffin recipe from a Moosewood cookbook I poked around Pinterest awhile to see what makes a chocolate muffin chocolate.

These muffins are easily my favorite thing that I’ve baked for a long time. A couple of tips-bake them slightly shorter than what you would think. It keeps them moist. Almost overfilling your cups will give you the ‘muffin top’ that people like. And finally, the batter may be a little stiff. Add milk a splash at a time just until the batter comes together.

triplechocolatemuffins

In fact, I was so excited about them I didn’t notice that the photo was overexposed until 1 AM. Whoops.

Triple Chocolate Muffins

1 3/4 cup flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1/3 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup buttermilk

1 cup cocoa powder*

2 1/2 tea baking powder

3/4 tea salt

roughly 1 cup chocolate chips-I used 1/2 and 1/2 white and milk

Preheat oven to 400.

Line a cupcake pan with 12 liners.

In a large bowl, add flour, salt, baking powder, and cocoa. In another bowl add sugar, milk, egg, and oil and lightly beat together. Add all of the wet bowl into the dry along with chocolate chips and mix together until just combined. Fill liners and bake for 20 minutes.

*1 cup may be a lot of chocolate for you, these are pretty intense on the flavor. Scale back to 3/4 a cup if you want. I used a mix of dark and regular cocoas for this batch.

Linked to-

too much time     the gingerbread blog     be different act normal

nifty thrifty things     flamingo toes     i should be mopping the floor

create with joy     lines across     this gal cooks

flour me with love     homemaker on a dime     sumo’s sweet stuff

stonegable     mandy’s recipe box     tumbleweed contessa

15 comments

    1. I used unsweetened baker’s cocoa, but if you wanted to use sweetened (or just had it) cut back on the sugar in the recipe. Or it’ll just be a sweeter muffin, more like the ones Tim Horton’s or Dunkin Donuts sell.

  1. These look tasty! I have a couple things that also never seem to get put away because they’re used so often – cookie sheets (for pizza and vegetables) and a couple choice tupperware for work lunches. I’m not being lazy by not putting them away, I’m being efficient 😉

Leave a Reply

