Pinterest Made Me Do It-Oatmeal Bread

I’ve come to adore breadmaking, but I still don’t have a ‘favorite’ bread recipe. I don’t have one that I keep wanting to make. Every loaf I make is my new ‘favorite’.

This recipe, from Averie Cooks, is on my repeat-recipe list.

1 cup boiling water

1 cup old fashioned rolled oats

2 cups flour

1/4 cup warm tap water

2 1/4 tea yeast

1/2 tea salt

2 table vegetable oil

2 table sugar

Place oats in a small bowl. Pour boiling water over the oats and let sit for about 20 minutes. When oats have cooled, add all ingredients to a bowl and knead for about 7 minutes. Let rise in a bowl for about 90 minutes.

After the first rise, punch down and knead about 3 minutes. Shape into a loaf and let rise in a bread pan for about an hour. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Note:

-I didn’t let this rise long enough on the second rise. The week before my bread rose too long in too warm an oven and it exploded everywhere. This week it was cool enough but I was concerned about the overflow and didn’t let it rise long enough. It seems that 45 minutes is about the right length of time for the second rise for my apartment.

-I changed to a Pyrex bread pan and now I need to get a feel for it. It may take a few weeks.

-This recipe had the easiest dough to work with of the breads I’ve been trying. It came together beautifully.

-For what it’s worth, this was the only bread that we completely ate in a week. Normally I have some left over to make bread crumbs or bread pudding. Not this loaf.

Linked to-

Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays     Saturday Dishes

create with joy     stonegable     funky polkadot giraffe

today’s creative     frugally sustainable     lady behind the curtain

the trendy treehouse     adorned from above     cultured palate

mandatory mooch     craftionary    little house in the suburbs

fresh eggs daily     too much time

5 comments

Leave a Reply

