The Joys of Micro-micro Batching

microbatch

Is it worth running a canner for 1 quarter pint jar of jam?

I suppose that the answer to that question is dependent on what’s in that jar. The last of a perfect batch of fruit? Probably. Or even some fruit butter. I might do it for fruit butter.

But what about when I’m feeling under the weather, vaguely bored (and/or disgruntled) and there’s two bags of peaches in the freezer, each with about three peach slices?

No, sorry. I’m not digging out a canner for 1 quarter pint jar’s worth of firestarter. I will make the firestarter, but I will cheat a little. I’ll use scotch bonnet hot sauce instead of a whole pepper (note to self: don’t do that again) and I’ll take out some of my angst on those poor peaches with a potato masher. I’ll play a little loose with the sugar and I’ll simmer it for about 10 minutes, attacking those innocent slices with the edge of a wooden spoon.

Kitchencraft is therapy on a number of levels…

Jamming is worth it. I’m the only one in the house that’ll eat firestarter with regularity (though I may make a chicken glaze with it later this week) so unless I am going to can it for gifts, it’s just about the right amount of jam. It’s just not always worth running even a micro-canner when fridge jam will work just as well.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

a pinch of joy

this gal cooks

create with joy

the chicken chick

flour me with love

weed em and reap

carolyn’s homework

memories by the mile

2 comments

  1. Haha, firestarter – now that sounds interesting! I don’t think I would bother with mini micro-micro batching anything! Thanks for the laugh.

Leave a Reply

