Painting the Roses Red

roses

I was poking around Pinterest this morning, and through looking at another recipe entirely, I came across this post about preserving roses. I thought that it looked cool, and low key enough that I had idle thoughts at some point about using the sugar/preserves to make a scented jam with.

But where would I get unsprayed roses? I put the thought to the back of my mind.

…Until one of my friend presented me with roses from her (unsprayed) bush today.
carrose

(My style choice of wallets is called ‘what Target had the day I went shopping.’)

It’s a very straightforward process. The biggest issue I had with it was that my blender didn’t want to blend, but my Ninjachop handled it fine. I didn’t add the rum, so I’m storing it in the fridge.

I plan on giving some to Heather, gifting a jar to someone else, and keeping a jar myself.

Preserved Roses

rose petals, pushed down fairly firmly

1 to 2 times the amount of sugar (i e 1 to 2 cups per cup of rose petals)

2 tablespoons of lemon juice

*2 tablespoons rum

Using a food processor, pulse clean petals and sugar until you get a fairly dark colored sugar/paste. If you want, remove and bottle for rose tinted/scented sugar at this stage. If not, add the lemon juice until well combined and bottle. I’m not sure how long this should stay, but at leave a couple of months in the fridge. If you want, make sure to use the 2x amount of sugar and add rum (I didn’t) to make it shelf stable for even longer.

Linked to-

mop it up mondays

The Chicken Chick

Today's Creative Blog

Crafty Confessions

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends and link up!

5 comments

Leave a Reply

