Sweet Chili Sauce

skirtA lot of my clothing choices this summer makes it look like I’ve jumped on the Day of the Dead/Dia de Los Muertos trend. I haven’t; not deliberately anyway. A few weeks ago my favorite skirt tore out, and in a fairly large way-the hole is probably half as long as my forearm. I dug through my fabric stash yesterday and found some smooth cotton with that particular print, it was the first piece I found that wasn’t flannel, and there’s not enough hof it to actually do anything with. I had a habit of buying half yards of material with high color prints back when I was doing a lot of handsewing.

The only comment I’ve been getting is that the patch is upside down. Yep. I know. I don’t care if it means I have a functional skirt again. I’m sorry for the slightly weird photo; my camera didn’t like the high contrast in my relatively dark kitchen.

chilisauceI love hot food.

My love of heat is legendary.

The words I hear most often about it are terrifying, freakish, and hellish.

I love this recipe (I got it originally from The Art of Doing Stuff), and it’s so simple. I use habaneros, but use whatever you have-or what your tolerance is. I use this in stir fries, as a dipping sauce, and mixed into slightly sour bbq sauce.

I THINK in theory you could freeze this. I haven’t tried. I know that there’s a version on Serious Eats for canning, but I’ve not done that version.

Sweet Chili Sauce

From The Art of Doing Stuff

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

3/4 cup water

1 cup sugar

2 hot peppers

2 cloves garlic

Add everything to a blender, and blend until smooth. Put into a saucepan and bring to a boil. Simmer for 10 minutes. The sauce will stay in the fridge for a couple weeks to a month.

Linked to-

This Gal Cooks     ClaireJustine     Lines Across

Sumo’s Sweet Stuff     Create with Joy

Please, stop by and link up to this week’s Inspired Weekends!

5 comments

Leave a Reply

