Purple Butter

I know that it’s not the most descriptive of names, but I like the way that it sounds. But then, I like the way that the world ‘purple’ sounds in general, so.

It’s funny how recipes evolve. When I found out that this was ‘berry’ month for Can It Up I knew that I wanted to work with blueberries and unrefined sweeteners. Unrefined sweeteners are slowly revolutionizing my life, along with unbleached flour. My thought at first was to go for blueberries and maple syrup. But I could never bring myself to pay what anyone wanted for blueberries this year; I don’t know if I’m just getting more cautious with my fruit money this summer and freaking out because I can get pounds of stone fruit for $.99 or if the berries really are just that much more expensive because June had twice the average amount of rain. I’m not sure.

So I bought a single, lowly pint of blueberries and they hung out in my freezer along with what’s left of last season’s cranberries.

Then there was the issue of maple syrup. Maple syrup at home is cheap; I lived in maple syrup country. For that matter, I’m all too familiar with the smell of tapping and boiling on cold winter mornings-my dad used to do it. I should have had my mom get some when she came up for her last visit. I had sticker shock at the farmer’s market (and the farmer’s market with the best prices, at that). So I ended up with wildflower honey-it was half the price.

So at the end, I had blueberries, cranberries, about 1/2 pound of cherries, and the honey. I decided to just be as low impact as possible and make a fruit butter.

If you don’t have an immersion blender, use a potato masher.

Purple Butter

Mixed berry butter with lavender and honey

Roughly 4 oz honey

1 pint or so blueberries

1/2-1 cup cranberries

1/2 lb cherries, pitted

pinch dried lavender (optional)

In a crock pot add all of your berries along with a splash of orange juice. The juice is just to make sure that your berries don’t scorch before they start to reduce down. Don’t add too much or you’ll just add more cooking time as the water still has to evaporate off.

Place lid on crock pot so that steam can escape; cook on high for at least an hour. Turn crockpot down to low and cook until berries burst and reduce down (or overnight). Using an immersion or stick blender, process until just smooth.

Reduce until mixture will mound up and hold its shape on a spoon. Add your honey (more or less depending on how sweet your fruit is) and lavender; let cook for at least another 15 minutes.

Process in a boiling water bath for 15 minutes, or jar and freeze. This batch gave me about a pint’s worth of butter, but yield will depend on how long you reduce it and how much moisture is in your berries.

Use your butter on toast, mixed into yogurt, over cake for a simple dessert, or mixed into bbq sauce.

 

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

Inspire Me Monday    Marvelous Mondays    The Chicken Chick

Flour Me With Love     Frugally Sustainable

april’s homemaking

weed em and reap

a pinch of joy

clairejustine

bakewell junction

heavenly savings

six sisters stuff

cooking with curls

this gal cooks

 

11 comments

  1. I have never used a crock pot to make apple butter (only stove top and oven) … but I will definitely try with my next batch of butter! Thanks for the great idea. Peaches and nectarines are going crazy right now so I know what fruit will be going into the crock pot!

    1. I’ve done both crock pot and stove top and the ability to go have my oil changed and still have the butter going really has me won over to the crock pot. It can mean soaking the pot longer than what I would like, but it’s worth it.

  2. I would love for you to share and link up at my weekly TGIF Link Party if you haven’t already this week. Your favorite posts, most popular, recent or new! The party is open every Thursday night and closes Tuesday’s at midnight. Followed by (Not SO) Wordless Wednesday! http://apeekintomyparadise.blogspot.com/.
    I would be honored if you join us and follow to stay connected Have a wonderful week!
    Hugs, Cathy

  3. Katie,
    Thanks for this idea, especially seeing that you used blueberries and cranberries! I made blueberry lemon syrup, and cranberry syrup, the other day, using the recipe from Food In Jars. It was so hard NOT to push down on the boiled berries as they drained, and seeing all that perfectly good fruit sitting leftover and unwanted in the strainer made me think that there’s got to be a way to use it again.
    I’m going to try making butter!
    I appreciate it!

  4. Oh my, that sounds delicious! I never thought to add lavendar, but I think it would make this absolutely wonderful! Thanks for sharing this recipe and giving me another excuse to haul out the old crockpot!

  5. This sounds very yummy. We have used up all of the jam that I canned last year and the kids have been asking for more. I think we should try this.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Kelly

  6. This is such a great idea to make berry butter and I love the color!! I definitely want to try this and thank you so much for sharing at Best of the Weekend! Hope you have a happy Saturday and a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

