Horror Confessions: It’s all Chernabog’s Fault

Night on Bald Mountain was most likely NOT my first run in with horror.  But that’ll be another entry at some other time. I think though that it ranks right up there with formative brushes with horror.

I know that July is Retro Horror Month on Horrific Knits, but unfortunately we experienced an unexpected death last week and it’s thrown me for a loop. I’ve only recently been getting back into my horror grove-expect more reviews (and Ghost Month in August!).

From a really young age-I mean, really, who asks for Classical Thunder for Christmas at 10 years old? This blogger, that’s who-I’ve been drawn into the heavy baroque classical pieces-both in the sense of heavy ornate music and actual Baroque period pieces. I think Chernabog has a lot to do with it.

I remember watching Fantasia as a kid and sitting sort of glossy eyed through the Night on Bald Mountain piece. To this day I still love that piece of music, as well as Ave Maria. Ironically, I don’t remember the Bach piece from Fantasia at all-Bach is now my favorite composer. As long as he stays away from the harpsichord. I never did grow to like those things.

Horror Confession: an animated Disney demon turned me into a classical music lover.

2 comments

  1. Fantasia is one of my favorite Goddamn movies. It’s funny, I don’t really recall the Czernobog scene bothering me as a child. The thunderstorm in Bambi, yes, but nothing in Fantasia.

    I’m not really sure where my specific Bach love game from, but it’s for his cello suites more than anything else.

  2. I loved Fantasia when I was a kid but I was definitely always waiting for this bit. I love horror stuff, it’s been said when I was about 3 years old I saw a scene of an evil, possessed cat slaughtering a person and all I said was, Look! That kitty can talk! bahahah
    Glad I found your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

