Pumpkin Muffins, Two Ways

It might be a little early for pumpkin recipes. A little. Just a little.

Unlike last year however, this year the weather’s playacting at autumn so I don’t feel quite as strange trying to take photos of pumpkin muffins in 95 degree weather.

One of the downsides of cooking with pumpkin is that when you use canned pumpkin, many recipes only require half of the can or so.  Here’s two recipes that will use a can of pumpkin between them, or make a double batch of either to use up the can.

Gingerbread Pumpkin Muffins

From Bakingdom

1 3/4 cups flour-I used unbleached white
1 tea baking soda
1/2 tea salt
1 tea ginger
1/2 tea cinnamon
1/4 tea nutmeg
1/4 tea allspice
1/4 cup oil
1/2 cup molasses- I used blackstrap, so the muffins in picture are pretty dark
1/2 cup sugar-I used raw
1/2 cup brown sugar-I used homemade
2 eggs
8 ounces pumpkin puree-about half a can
1/4 cup water

Add everything from the oil down into a bowl and mix together. Add the dry ingredients and mix till just combined. Fill lined cupcake pans, and bake at 350 for 15-18 mins. Makes 14 to 16 muffins depending on how full you  make your liners.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Modified from Foodie.com

1 cup pumpkin

1 egg

2/3 cup sugar-I used raw

1/3 cup applesauce

1 tsp salt

1 tbl pumpkin spice

1/2 cup milk

1 1/2 cup flour-I used unbleaced

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

Chocolate chips

In a mixing bowl combine wet ingredients including the sugar. Mix till combined. Mix dry ingredients in another bowl, then add to the wet mixture.

Fill lined cupcake trays and bake at 400 for 18 mins. Makes 12 muffins.

*The weird formatting comes from cutting and pasting out of a Google Doc.

Linked To-

Little House in the Suburbs     Frugally Sustainable

the chicken chick

Call Me PMC

it’s fall y’all

9 comments

  1. Years (and YEARS) ago I used to make a pumpkin-gingerbread loaf … and sadly I accidentally threw the recipe away many years ago … I look forward to making your version! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Those both sound wonderful! I wonder if my go-to pumpkin bread recipe would work as cupcakes too? I’d love to have you post this at the HomeAcre Hop on Thursday.

  3. How Funny! Where we live (PA), it is so nice and fall-like, I couldn’t help myself, I had to make pumpkin bread! I am definitely trying both of these. Thanks!!!!

  4. Hi hi!
    You shared this link with me on the BPAL forum (here: http://www.bpal.org/topic/36844-favorite-fall-foods/page__st__125) – I’m “miamaslegi” there. I just wanted to say that I made both of these muffins and wow – delicious! They’ve both secured firm places in my recipe box, for sure! 😀 I’ve made a third (!) batch of the pumpkin gingerbread muffins to eat whilst Weenie stalking, heh. I’ve really had a great time reading through your reviews and all – it’s nice to see another soul with a love of horror and knitting and cooking and camping and and and . . . 😀 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

