Day 1-No ‘Poo

I may be a little late jumping on the no ‘poo (washing your hair with something other than shampoo-hence no ‘poo) bandwagon but for $.49 a box for baking soda I thought it would be at least worth a shot to see if it does anything for my baby fine, waist length hair.

*As it turns out I have no decent photos of my hair. I’ll have to fix that.

Flat.

Not particularly dirty, but flat.

When you start the no ‘poo process, one of the main warnings is that your hair goes through an adjustment period before it finds the ‘right’ amount of oil that it needs to produce to stay healthy. One of the major problems with conventional shampoo is that it strips too much oil out of your hair and causes your scalp to produce too much. Without that stripping agent your body will probably produce the same amount, but the baking soda won’t strip as much out of your hair. Hence, you may have a case of the greasies for awhile.

Following the advice of a couple of different sites I dissolved a tablespoon of baking soda into roughly a cup’s worth of water. I massaged my scalp before showering to help loosen any dead skin (ew, but necessary as far as I could tell) and then washed my hair with the baking soda water like normal making sure to rinse well. I rinsed with diluted apple cider vinegar after which helps normalize the pH of your hair and prevents it from getting frizzy.

So day 1 verdict: it’s slightly more oily than normal (though it was also fairly greasy going into the shower. The top half of my hair is flatter than normal but I’m also used to a volumizing shampoo. The bottom half of my hair does feel softer. I did end up using some dry shampoo to see if I can get some volume, at least.

We’ll see how this goes. It’s not like I can’t go back to normal shampooing if this ends up not working for my hair.

Leave a Reply

