Operation Autumn

Each year I swear that I’m going to have an amazing autumn this year, and each year I’m disappointed. I never seem to hit the levels of activities and enjoyment that I long for.

Not this year. This year I’m kicking off Operation Autumn.

What is Operation Autumn? At least once a week from now until just after Thanksgiving I’m going to pick one item off of this list. I’ll blog about the more exciting ones, and provide feedback on my hits and misses. I know that I’m not going to be able to hit all of these things between time, money, and weather constraints. I’ll update the list as I do them. The numerical order isn’t important-they’re on my list as I thought about them.

1. Carve a pumpkin

2. Door Wreath

3. Go to a Corn Maze

4. Haunted History Witch Walk

5. Go to a bonfire

6. Bake an apple pie

7. Bake a pumpkin pie

8. Go to a fiber festival

9. Read M.R. James

10. Go to the Festival of Trees

11. go apple picking

12. Go to a pumpkin farm

13. Go to a haunted house

14. Roast a turkey

15. Roast a ham

16. Make apple jam

17. Make apple sauce

18. Hold a haunted tea

19. Make pumpkin butter

20. Hold a chili night

21. Go to Buffalo Screams

22. Go to crafting weekend

23. Hold a Misgiving’s Day Party

24. Hold Mabon

25. Go to Van Horn’s halloween event

26. Go to Iron Island

27. Have a Starbuck’s pumpkin latte

28. Go to Forest Lawn

29. Go the farmer’s market halloween party

30. Go to Oktoberfest

31. Hold a Hammer Films marathon

32. See what Target has out for Halloween

33. Go to a pumpkin festival

34. Make fudge

35. Donate to a food drive

36. Hold a community thanksgiving

37. Watch Thankskilling

38. Hold/attend Samhain

39. Have a bread baking day

40. Make my Christmas shopping list

41. Write my 2013 gratitude list

42. Start my Christmas cards

43. Decorate my plant

44. Go to the haunted zoo

45. Go to the park

46. Got to Letchworth

47. Go to the Chattaqua Institution

48. Go to Lily Dale

49. Go to the USS The Sullivans

50. Watch The Gravedancers

51. Ride the haunted train

52. Go to the Farmer’s Museum

One comment

  1. Very inspiring. I’ll have to make an Austin-version, although I suspect it won’t feel nearly as autumnal, as Austin is lacking in both ghosts and apples.

Leave a Reply

