Pinterest Made Me Do It-Cream Cheese Pumpkin Pie

We’re just getting into those wonderful fall holidays-and birthdays. I used this recipe from Just Imagine to a bake a pie for a friend’s birthday party. I made very minor changes-I upped the spice, altered the order of some of the steps (I’m never very good at that) and didn’t blind bake my crust because, well, I never blind bake a crust.

I also baked it in a round cake tin. I normally would have used a pie tin but all of my three seemed to be dirty all at the same time…I’m not sure how that happened. Anyway, I liked the way the pan worked out for a pumpkin pie. I normally end up with a trail of pie custard everywhere when I use a pie pan but the cake tin was deep enough to avoid overflow.

8 oz cream cheese

1/2 stick butter melted

1 cup sugar

1 cup half and half

1 can pumpkin

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp pumpkin spice (or more, I use a heaping tsp)

1 egg plus 2 egg yokes

1 tsp vanilla

1 pie crust, of choice

In a mixer bowl beat cream cheese, then add pumpkin and beat. Add eggs and yokes and just beat. Add sugar and beat. Add butter and cream and beat until just combined. Finally, add salt, vanilla, and pumpkin spice and beat till just combined.

Pour custard into a pie dish prepared with the crust. Bake at 350 for 50 minutes or until just set.

Remember to stop by Fall Into the Holidays and check out the great projects linked up there!

Linked to-

I Should Be Mopping the Floor

Mom’s Test Kitchen     Memories by the Mile

The Chicken Chick     Tumbleweed Contessa      This Gal Cooks

Ginger Snap Crafts

Addicted to Recipes     Adventures in Mindful Cooking       a peek into my paradise  

a pinch of joy

Family Home and Life

Someday Crafts

nifty thrifty things

uss crafty

pinkwhen

life on lakeshore drive

create with joy

happy house and home

10 comments

  1. Love the addition of cream cheese to this pumpkin pie! Makes it almost like a pumpkin cheesecake which is my favorite! Thank you for linking up to our Spooktacular Halloween link party.
    Michelle

  2. I am not a big pumpkin pie person, but this looks really good. I’m going to try this in a gluten free pie crust with sweet potato to see if it’s delicious as well. Thanks for the inspiration this month.

  3. I love pumpkin pie, but my family doesn’t, so we often skip it. I will have to try this recipe to see if I can convince them!! I mean, it isn’t really Thanksgiving without pumpkin pie, right?

Leave a Reply

