Apple Season, Day 1-Deveiled and Slices

I didn’t get anything put up at all in August. I normally slow way down in August, but it’s been awhile where I’ve had a month that I didn’t even get anything into the freezer.

I’m determined not to miss apple season the way that I did with tomatoes-though tomato season wasn’t a total wash, it just wasn’t nearly as productive as I had hoped.

One of the nice things about being in an apple state is that this time of year, it’s not hard to find decent prices on fruit. I’m slowly moving through mountains of the things. While I did get a batch of apple-pear jam into the fridge (the thought of running my canner just to open the jars again within a week struck me as a little counterproductive), I’ve been playing with recipes and projects that I haven’t done before.

1. Deveiled Preserves

Apples and beer. Looking through my project lists it’s not a big secret that I love canning with alcohol. I really, really, really like what this project did taste-wise.

Similar to my spiked fruit syrup from this summer, I soaked my apples in a blend of beer and sugar. But instead of draining out the beer I cooked the whole thing down until syrupy and -tried- to get a fairly soft set. But it actually set up pretty firm and sticky. But the taste…the taste is nice.

Magic Hat describes Deveiled as ‘A rich and robust amber ale. Hiding just beyond its malty core is a crisp, clean, hoppy aura that will open your eyes to the other side.’ What it worked out to mean was a slightly boozy, lightly sweet preserves that cooked down to a strange malty chocolately brown. This is going to be a repeat project, as it cooked down into a microbatch. As in, it was pretty much all I could do not to march myself down to Tops and get more beer-it’s probably a good thing storage apples work so well for jamming because I really want to play with seasonal beers.

Deveiled Jam

4 cups chopped apples

2 cups sugar

1 to 1 1/2 cups beer (depending on if you’re counted the head)

1 table lemon juice per 2 cups apples

Allow apples to soak in beer, lemon, and sugar, stirring every so often, for at least a couple of hours.

Over medium heat, allow to cook down until the jam wants to set (20 to 25 minutes depending on altitude and how juicy the fruit is), but you may want to pull it just before you normally like your gel point. Process in a hot water canner for 10 minutes. I’m planning on serving this one with cheese. It gave me just about a pint, exactly.

2. Spiced Apple Slices Not all of my baking fruit gets canned in booze. (We’re just going to ignore the fact that I have been stocking up on my alcohol stash in order to gear up for winter canning needs.) I did can some thin sliced apples in a light syrup with a couple good sized dashes of pumpkin pie spice. These are going to be for cakes and muffins later in the season. They were processed in half pints for 15 minutes. I did not leave enough head room so there was some syphoning and one jar didn’t seal. How sad, now I have to make muffins… fallRemember to stop by and link up at Fall Into the Holidays!

Linked to-

A Pinch of Joy

pinkwhen

life on lakeshore drive

diy showoff

flamingo toes

silhouette school

nifty thrifty things

titi craft

the chicken chick

uss crafty

i should be mopping the floor

 

More the Merrier Monday

Leave a Reply

