Apples of Opportunity

This weekend past was Heartsong, which is one of my favorite festivals of the year.

The campground that holds it was an apple orchard at one point of its history and there’s dozens of old growth trees dotting the property. This time of year, the trees are so heavy with fruit that they’re just spilling all over the place and rotting. The bees buzz around like they’re drunk.

In between events I asked if I could pick a couple of bags of apples. I spent part of the afternoon wandering the property, weaving in and out of trees and chasing away the weirdly half-drunk bees.

I will probably be processing apples for a week-but I’m looking forward to a winter of apple sauce and butter.

Also, I’m mildly obsessed with cyser which is unfortunate. I’m not sure you can get it readily as a commercial product.

Please stop and link up to this week’s round of Fall Into the Holidays-now with photo thumbnails!

Linked to-

a pinch of joy

momnivore’s dilemma

the prairie homestead

Leave a Reply

