Hot Cocoa

hotcocoaa

There’s procrastination. And then there’s whatever it is that I do.

I was supposed to run this project last winter, when I started seeing homemade cocoa all over Pinterest. I love the idea of being able to make a thing whenever I want it instead of being dependent on whenever the store’s open (ignore the fact that Wegman’s is open 24 hours a day. Do you want to go to the grocery store at midnight for cocoa powder in the middle of lake effect snow?).

It wasn’t that it got pushed back because of other projects. It wasn’t even that I just never got around to it. Oh no, it was…lamer than that.

I kept refusing to buy powdered milk. Seriously, it took me a solid year to get around to buying powdered milk. The price tag on that stuff? Really. However, now that I have it, I’m not sure why I waited so long-and Mid keeps asking for me to make more cocoa.

Swap out the chocolate chips for different flavors to put your own spin on your cocoa. It would be cute in little jars with bows for gifts.

Original recipe here

3 cups powdered milk

2 cups powdered sugar

1 1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (or peppermint chips, or peanut butter/chocolate chips…)

1/4 tea salt

Mix all in a large bowl. Store in a large jar; my batch was just slightly large than would fit in a quart jar. Mix into hot milk or water.

Please, stop by Fall Into the Holidays!

Linked to-

funky polka dot giraffe

the prairie homestead

adorned from above

mom’s test kitchen

that suburban momma

lady behind the curtain

life with the crust cut off

the real housewives of riverton

craftionary

love bakes good cakes

little house in the suburbs

flamingo toes

ginger snap crafts/christmas wonderful

5 comments

Leave a Reply

