How To: Brown Sugar (31 Days of Baking)

brown sugar

I started making my own brown sugar a couple of years ago. I can never get through a bag of brown sugar without it turning into a rock. One of the reasons that my baked goods turn out so dark is that I also switched to blackstrap molasses at the same time, so I use it in my brown sugar.

Brown sugar is so easy to make. Add a tablespoon or two of molasses to about a cup’s worth of sugar. With a whisk or spoon, mix until well combined. It can take up to five minutes by hand, so I normally just throw it into my Kitchenaide and let it run on the second lowest setting for awhile and go do something else.

Store in a glass airtight container. If it goes hard, you can throw in a piece of bread or a cookie to resoften it.

Are you baking for the holidays? Feel free to link up your recipes!

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

lamberts lately

cultured palate      craftionary

mabey she made it

mom’s test kitchen

miz helen’s

gingersnap crafts

family home and life

someday crafts

buns in my oven

bloom designs

posed perfection

joyful homemaking

a life in balance

3 comments

  1. What a great idea, I will have to try this! Thank you so much for sharing this awesome post with Full Plate Thursday and hope you are having a fantastic weekend!
    Come Back Soon,
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

