Sweet Cornbread


I know that the blogosphere honestly doesn’t care about my carb intake, nor should they, but I feel the need to state that I am not eating all the baked goods that I’m making this month.

This corn bread, which was lovely and sweet (and toasted up like corn cakes the next morning) went with me to Thanksgiving. I’ve never made a corn bread that didn’t come out of a box prior to this recipe and I was really happy with how this came out.

I think that the sugar could be cut back a little but Mid liked it the way that it was.

The way that I’ve been softening butter for these recipes is to put it in a pot on the oven vent while the oven preheats. I put the butter on while I’m getting out the rest of the ingredients and by the time I’m ready to start baking the butter’s generally soft.

Recipe found here

1 stick butter, softened

1 1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 cup flour

2 eggs

1 cup cornmeal

1 1/2 cup milk

2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 tea salt

Beat all in a mixer, add to a 13×9 pan. Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.

 
31daysofbakingBaking this season? Feel free to add your baking links~

One comment

Leave a Reply

