2014’s Word: Learn

Movement was 2013’s word of the year, and what a long, strange trip it’s been. In a lot of ways I’m still where I was this time last year- and with a little bit of sadness, some of those ways were the places I was hoping to have the most movement. However, some of the decisions that put me there (left me there?) were conscious decisions made by things I learned through movement in other places.

In other words, sometimes when you leave you find yourself right back where you started. And sometimes that’s a good thing.

Learning is one of those words that’s a little scary. I know full well that part of what I Learn (capitalized for a reason) may be scary. It’s probably going to be things that from a comfort standpoint I probably would have liked to not have Known. I’m hoping the Universe will be gentle enough with me to at least grant me the Wisdom to understand what it is that it teaches me.

So like last year’s entry, where’s what I plan on doing to help carry my end of this bargain: I hope to teach myself as much as I can, or find the people who will teach me. I want to try knitting techniques that I haven’t before. I want to try the dyeing stuff that’s been intimidating me. I want to make new recipes. I’ve already taught myself magic loop knitting. I want to read as much as I can, on a wide variety of topics.

Here I go, throwing myself down a rabbit hole knowing that like Alice, whoever’s coming out will not be the person who went in.

Bottom’s up and safe journeys. May 2014 be a gentler year on us all.

Please, stop by this week’s Fall Into the Holidays or Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

lamberts lately

the chicken chick

3 comments

  1. I’m planning on being more ‘intentional’ this year in all areas of my life and hoping to learn a few new things in regards to my art. I wish you the best in 2014!

Leave a Reply

