What Fears Become

What Fears Become: An Anthology from the Horror Zine, Book 1

Jeani Rector, Ed.

382 pages

Accessed as an E-book

$0.99 on Amazon at time of review

I’m pretty fond of anthologies. That’s something that comes up in a lot of my short story reviews, I do have a weakness for anthologies. However, even with my love of anthologies I sometimes get a little wary of small presses because unfortunately I’ve come across collections that it is pretty obvious that they wouldn’t have made it through a major press. This anthology didn’t have any of these problems and the editing on the book is quite solid.

The short stories in this collection have a really good flow, and all of them are really solid. It’s rare for me to want to read everything in an anthology but I finished all of the stories in this collection. There are a few stories where ‘horror’ is probably not the best word for the piece, but even in those cases I greatly enjoyed the stories. Oddly, my favorite in the collection ( ‘Fish Night’ by Joe R. Lansdale) is one of those stories but if you lump ‘surreal’ into ‘horror’ then the story works-and frankly, I can think of quite a few people who would be more than a little unsettled by the premise of that tale.

One of the things that I was most impressed with this book was that a lot of the stories work with familiar themes in way that don’t feel stale. The stories aren’t just reworks of traditional horror stories, though there are a lot of nods to world folklore that I always like seeing in a collection. The lamia makes an appearance, as does a pretty interesting working of the Old Hag.

I’m looking forward to the rest of the books in this anthology series, and hope that Rector can stay with this level of editing.

Leave a Reply

