Dedication

I don’t double post but no time like the present…

I thought that this post would be hard to write but the hardest part I’m having is what to title it. I’ve been putting it off for awhile because I wasn’t sure how to approach it but I guess the fact that this is coming easily means that this is time to talk about it.

In the summer of 2012 I made the decision to start wrapping my head in public. What this means is that when outside of the house, and even at home under certain circumstances-such as when I have people in my home that I’m not fully comfortable with such as repair people-there is something covering my hair. I will go unwrapped at home or in the homes of family or people I consider family. Otherwise, the only time that I go without something on my hair is at certain times when I’m at work.

I have found that over the last 18 months that covering my hair in public has actually given me a lot of strength, grounding, and maturity in my sense of self and my spirituality. While I do wrap for religious reasons (my path wraps as a sign of dedication to deity as opposed to modesty), I do find that having the attention away for appearance gives me a sense of calm in social situations. I don’t know why but I do know that this is something that I’ve heard from other women who wrap full time.

My biggest concern when I started wrapping was public acceptance. To be honest, wrapping is not mainstream enough that my sisters who wrap have occasionally talked about the negative stereotypes that they have encountered while in public. However, one of the things that I first noticed once I started doing this was the sheer number of women in my neighborhood who wrap; I’m not in the minority around here by any means.

It is a very physical reminder of the promises and dedications that I have made to my religion. Wraps can get very warm, and very heavy, and yes, there are times when you go into a public space and people will stare. Frankly, staring back has a way of ending that behavior. There are days that I really wish that I could just leave the house like I did before I wrapped, and my hairstyles are certainly more limited that what I was doing before I started. Honestly though the days that I don’t want to do a full tichel or turban style wrap I put my hair in a bun and wear a slouchy hat. That’s why there’s been so many finished hats on the blog.

Women in my cultural background used to wrap their heads after a certain age as a mark of maturity and I feel like I’m tapping in that. I’m nearing the end of my twenties and I’m embracing who I am at this end of the decade and while I love who I was at the beginning, I’m more than happy to be who I am now.

Wrapping is a step that I don’t expect, or even ask, other women to want to take, and it certainly was an adjustment. This is one that I’m very happy to have made and I don’t see myself backing down from it in the foreseeable future.

2 comments

  1. Congratulations to you as you make this public step. I haven’t been veiling for very long at all, and I too have noticed a greater sense of strength and security from doing it. (And isn’t the slouchy hat thing fabulous? *laugh* That’s my “cheater method” too!)

    I look forward to hearing more from you on the topic.

    1. I have more slouchy hats than I know what to do with! My Sister gave me a box full of underwraps for Yule. I’m looking forward to playing with them.

Leave a Reply

