Blood Orange Honey Jelly

jelly

I originally posted this as a Can It Up entry. I do want to say that this isn’t meant as a way of curing a cold, it just tastes like something I use to cure a cold. However, it makes you feel better when you have a cold, knock yourself out.

I can’t take cold meds. They do horrible, horrible things to me. So I drink gallons of this cold remedy tea stuff all winter.

I’ve gotten so sometimes I drink it just for the taste. When Can It Up was announced as citrus this month, I knew I wanted to do a riff on that theme. But why do lemon when you can use blood oranges?

I don’t know why you wouldn’t use blood orange in everything you can. Price Rite sells blood orange juice-100%, no sugar added blood orange juice. If you don’t want to use blood oranges, use a -good quality- orange juice of your choice. Or lemon juice.

If it doesn’t set, use the syrup in baking. Or make old fashions with it. When I did my freezer test, the top note was the honey, then the citrus rounded out by the spices. It wasn’t overly sweet, and I think this will be amazing with wheat and cream cheese.

Blood Orange Honey Jelly

3 cups blood orange juice

1 cup honey

1/4 tea each ground ginger and cinnamon

3 table powdered pectin (this amount of pectin made a very soft set jelly for me, which I was okay with. Add a tablespoon or two more pectin for a firmer set).

Bring honey, spices, and juice to a boil. Add pectin, stir to dissolve, then bring to a hard boil for 1 minute. Lower heat and simmer for five. Fluid should feel thicker.

Fill prepped half pint jars and process in a water bath for 10 minutes.

*That much undiluted, unsweetened citrus juice should be more than acidic enough to can on its own. If you would feel safer, add 1 1/2 table bottled lemon juice.

februaryPinterest

Food-Canning

Please, stop by and share with this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

nifty thrifty things

flamingo toes

the chicken chick

this gal cooks

memories by the mile

mamal diane

craft dictator

frugally sustainable

One comment

Leave a Reply

