Edible Glitter

edibleglitterThere are a ton of edible glitter tutorials on Pinterest right now. But do they work? Can you actually make shiny, colored sugar to use in your kitchen using only an oven and some food dye? Luckily, I have tons of food dye because of my yarn dyeing hobby, and the tutorials claim that you can have glitter in less than 10 minutes.

Pinterest’s directions, from several pins:

1. Add 1/4 tea to 1/2 tablespoon liquid food color to 1/4 cup sugar

2. Spread thinly onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper

3. Bake at 350 degrees F for 10 minutes

My directions:

1. Add 15 drops of liquid food color (red) to 1/2 cup of white sugar-liquid food coloring is really concentrated. I don’t think you need as much as what Pinterest says that you do.

Also, I don’t think I would mix by hand again. Even with trying to be careful, I had white sugar at the bottom of the bowl when I dumped it onto the pan. I think I would mix it like I mix brown sugar next time.

glitter2

2. I did line the pan with parchment paper, and used a pan with a lip. I spread out the sugar as thinly as I could and still stay on the paper. I don’t know why my camera turned everything blue, but you get the idea.

glitter1

3. Comments on the posts I read (I think this is one of the keys of avoiding Pinterest fails, read the comments and make the changes appropriately) said that 350 for 10 minutes is way too hot and way too long. So I preheated my oven to 300 and baked for 7 minutes.

glitter

Was this a Pinterest fail?

Not exactly. I don’t think so anyway.

The sugar did come out shinier than when it went in. I don’t think I can call it ‘glitter’ though. It’s an easy trick to make dry colored sugar though, which would be nice for cupcakes or other decorated deserts.

I would definitely recommend using a mixer to color the sugar; you’ll have to mix for a fairly long time otherwise to get it consistently colored by hand.

Use a lot less coloring than what they’re telling you or use more sugar. Liquid food dye is potent; it’s more concentrated than koolaide and 2 packages of koolaide can dye up to 7 oz of fiber depending on color. Definitely pull back on the food dye for the darker colors like purple.

I can see why the comments recommend using a cooler oven but I almost think I pulled it too soon. So I think I would recommend using a cooler oven for the recommended length of time.

Have you tried this project? Did you get it to work as described?

Food-Dessert/Sweet

februaryPlease, Stop By and Share With Us at Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

adorned from above

mom’s test kitchen

frugally sustainable

craft dictator
sunny simple life

flamingo toes

twelve 0 eight
a pinch of joy

One comment

Leave a Reply

