Chocolate Mint Pudding From Scratch

Mid works odd hours now. I find myself doing things at strange times, because I’m already awake.

I’m not the type of person to be up at five in the morning making him eggs and bacon, but I do get up with him to make his lunch and make sure that he actually makes it out the door on time. It’s a trade off, because I hate loosing the sleep but sometimes I’m left with mornings where the day stretches in front of me with hours to fill with whatever I want to do.

Chocolate pudding is not one of those things that I necessarily think of right away. Morning cooking, though, is for things that I find comforting. I might try new recipes but not new food. I’ve been nostalgic lately, and I want to make things that remind me of when I was small.

I didn’t think that coming up on my 29th birthday would have an impact on me, but man. I’ve gone weird.

Chocolate Mint Pudding

From MaryJane’s Farm February-March 2014

2 Cups Whole Milk

1/4 cup Sugar

2 Table Cocoa Powder

2 Table Corn Starch

1 Egg Yolk

1/4 Cup Chocolate Chips

2 Table Butter

1/2 Tea Mint Extract

1/2 Tea Vanilla Extract

1. Add all ingredients up to and including the egg yolk to a blender and pulse to combine. Add to a sauce pan and other medium-low heat bring to a slow boil. Stirring constantly, cook down for 10 minutes. Lower heat and allow to simmer for three minutes.

2. Pull from heat and add chocolate and butter. Stir until fully melted.

3. Add extracts.

4. Allow to cool at room temperature; skim off the skin that will form and refrigerate.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

adorned from above

mom’s test kitchen

the tasty fork

family home and life

lamberts lately

miz helen’s country cottage

creative geekery

frugally sustainable

craft dictator

whipperberry

practically functional

domestic superhero

Leave a Reply

