Peeps Pies

peepspiesadjusted

I’m in love with all things refrigerated dough. Rolls, pizza dough, pie dough. If it comes in tubes or cans, I want to use it.

It cuts out so much work and I can get things made before I have to go to work. If you want to use homemade dough for any of my recent projects, please feel free. I love working with homemade dough when I have the hours to put into it but during this season, anything that I can do to cut time out of my schedule is optimal.

This was an experiment, part of my Death of a Peep project looking for ways of using up Easter project. These taste good but the marshmallows melted down into a sugar glaze.

With the size cutter I used for this batch, one single pie crust gave me five pies. I used 2 1/2 peeps. If you don’t want to use peeps, use 1 large marshmallow per pie.

doughroundsadjusted

Use whatever size cutter you want but make sure you change the amount of marshmallow per pie to account for the size of the dough. Depending on your marshmallows they may melt down and glaze the insides of your pies.

If you want to, glaze the tops of the pies and sprinkle with sugar prior to placing them in the oven. With peeps already being sugared, I didn’t want even more sugar in the recipe.

rerolladjusted

Peeps Pies

Pie crust-at least one single crust. More crust will give you more pies

chocolate chips

peeps-figure 1/2 peep per pie

water

crimpedpiesadjusted

Pre-heat oven to 350.

Let your dough warm enough that you can work with it.

Cut out your pie bases, making sure that you re-roll your dough as necessary to give you an even number of rounds.

Cut your peeps in half, placing one half on a round. Surround the peep with chocolate chips.

Wetting the bottom round place another round on top and crimp the edges with a fork.

Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes.

Remember, depending on your marshmallows they may melt down in the pie.

deathpeep1

I’m putting my mod hat on here. My comment policy works like this and has for years: I allow for most every comment as long as it’s not openly abusive; however, that doesn’t mean that the comment will receive responses that are gentle from any user of the site-if someone wants to respond in kind [including anyone writing on the site] they are free to comment as well. But, I don’t want to moderate flame wars over Easter candy either. Comments are now locked on the entry until further notice.

8 comments

  1. OK, I KNOW I’m not going to be popular for this, but :
    O. M. G. !!!!!
    Seriously???
    Talk about feeding your kids and yourself with such nasty, horrible, toxic and bad stuff!!!

    One serving of Peeps is five chick-shaped pieces, each containing 28 calories. This may not seem like a lot, but almost all of these calories come from sugar (one Peep has 7.2 grams of carbs, 6.8 of which are sugar), meaning they’re as empty as it gets.

    What else is in Peeps other than sugar? Not much. The Peeps nutrition facts reads as follows: Sugar, corn syrup, gelatin, contains less than 0.5% of the following ingredients: yellow #5 (Tartrazine), potassium sorbate (a preservative), natural flavors, carnauba wax.

    Yes, carnauba wax (which is apparently non-toxic)—the main ingredient in car wax—rounds out the ingredients list of Peeps.

    Corn syrup: as nasty an ingredient as it gets: GMO and toxic as heck! (The reason that Americans are FAT! It is SO unhealthy!)

    If you want your kids to become diabetic and obese, and extremely unhealthy yes, just feed them this *great idea* pie.
    Even making peeps yourself, with healthy ingredients would be a bad example of good health, IMO, but at least it would be with some food that has a bit of ‘value’.
    Sorry, this is a bad idea from the start.

    1. I’m going to be honest here, and that’s not going to be popular either.

      If you don’t want to do it, then don’t do it. Period.

      Leaving paragraph long comments on blogs regarding other people’s food choices amounts a) body policing b) ineffective social commnentary and c) frankly it’s just rude.

      There are plenty of things that you can do food wise that makes you happy and fits into your food paradigm. If you don’t like what a blogger writes, then don’t follow the recipe.

      I’m leaving the comment up, however, in no way shape or form am I advocating living off of food like this and I don’t think one Peep (or half a Peep in this case) is going to harm a person.

      In short you do you and I’m going to do me.

    2. I find the “this ingredient is also found in” argument stupid as hell. Vinegar is found in Windex and hot and sour soup. It doesn’t mean eating hot and sour soup is the same as eating Windex. At some point you have to realize that with only 92 naturally occurring elements, there’s going to be some overlap.

  2. Just sayin’: this was posted on “Frugally SUSTAINABLE” which is mostly a blog about healthy products. …I am sorry that I obviously offended you. I was just surprised to find such a post on this bloghop. Again, sorry I offended you.

  3. uhm why would you assume she has kids? because you aren’t an adult without spawning? this wasn’t posted on a child rearing page. you are completely rude and inappropriate. the joy of being an adult is knowing that you can enjoy what you want in moderation. go be ignorant and bossy somewhere else.

    1. I’m going to approve the comment because I approve most everything. However, please don’t devolve into a flame war over marsmallows.

Comments are closed.