Vegetable Pizza Pockets

pizzafinished1

Yes, these are still carbs but if you can get wheat dough they’re slightly more virtuous than a cookie.

Well, I mean, they’re better than a cookie even without wheat dough but I really burned out on hyper-sweet stuff during February. It’s time for something more savory than sugary.

I did use a store bought dough for these because I keep dough in the fridge now for baking before work during the week. If I can get a weekend at home I hope to start something like the bread in five minutes a day style where I have dough in the house and I don’t have to rely on Pillsbury.

You can make your own dough, certainly, and I’m even comfortable saying that they’ll be that much better.  I just don’t want people to think they have to follow one of my recipes with exactly the described items.

Or don’t make it all. My mantra is don’t eat things that don’t make you happy. Period.

1 whole wheat/multigrain pizza crust

Assorted chopped vegetables

shredded cheese-about a cup for four pizzas

Italian seasoning

pizza sauce (served on the side)

With a pie press, cut out four circles worth of dough-or cut around a can lid or use another large, round cutter.

In the middle of each circle place about 1/4 cup of cheese and assorted vegetables. Sprinkle with Italian seasoning. Crimp edges. Sprinkle the tops of the pockets with more seasoning.

Bake at 350 for 18-20 minutes.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

lamberts lately

family home and life

mom’s test kitchen

yesterfood

mamaldiane

ladybug blessings

craft dictator

carolyns homework

vmg206

funky polka dot giraffe

the tasty fork

ginger snap crafts

3 comments

  1. This is an awesome recipe! I’m currently looking for something to get to work for my family. and by “work for my family” I mean both “I need it to travel to places of school/employment easily” and “it needs to be a cohesive addition that will make my life easier”. I was 100% with you all the way up to “assorted Veggies” and then I froze. I’m a cheese and pepperoni pizza girl. My husband put pineapple on his when I’m out of town. My daughter doesn’t eat veg unless we hold the mail “meat” portion of the meal hostage. I can see mushrooms (mmmm, sauteed mushrooms… /drools/) and olives, but I’m coming up blank at any “healthy” veggies that would work in this scenario, under spaghetti sauce.
    What would you suggest?

  2. Thank you for linking up at Tasty Tuesdays! Your post has been pinned to my Recipes from Tasty Tuesday board. I can’t wait to see what you link up next week!
    Have a terrific weekend!
    Cathy
    APeekIntoMyParadise.com
    #TastyTuesdays

Leave a Reply

