Firestarter

Camera 360

I posted this recipe a couple of years ago, but this is still one of my favorite recipes to can. This is also one of my most popular canning projects, along with the apple-pear jam and the cyser style apples from last fall. I can’t keep jars of any of these three recipes in the house.

I do tend to use more peppers in the recipe now, but if you’re not a heat freak like me, then start with the recommended amount and go from there.

I want to try this with different fruits and peppers. I have some peppers called ring of fire in the freezer that I want to use with strawberries. Some women have a chocolate hoard in their freezers. I have hot peppers.

Firestarter Jam (Peach-Scotch Bonnet Jam)

3 cups sliced peaches

1 seeded, diced scotch bonnet pepper- I really would seed it. The heat level on this isn’t unbearable for me, but I don’t think I would leave the seeds in there either. If you can’t get a scotch bonnet, try a couple bird’s eye peppers or a habanero.

scant 1 1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 table bottled lemon juice

Prep 3 quarter pint jars for boiling water bath canning.

In a large saucepan, bring fruit, sugar, pepper, and lemon to a hard boil. After 10 minutes of boiling check for gel by placing a plate in the freezer. Place a small amount of jam on the plate and freeze for 30 seconds. When you can run your finger through the jam and it holds it shape without running together, it’s gelled.

Fill jars and process for 10 minutes using a boiling water canner. Or, you can freeze the jam for up to one year.

I did BWB process these jars. If you are not familiar with how to boiling water bath process food for canning, please make sure to read over a source like the Ball Blue Book or the National Center for Home Food Preservation. Canning is not particularly difficult, but it’s also not a process that you should take lightly. This recipe assumes you know the basics of boiling water bath canning. If you are not comfortable with canning, this recipe can be stored in the freezer for 1 year.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

reasons to skip the housework

lamberts lately

domesblissity

miz helen’s country cottage

little house in the suburbs

whipperberry

frugally sustainable

bacon time with the hungry hypo

practically functional

domestic superhero

nifty thrifty things

simply gloria

weed em and reap

april’s homemaking

5 comments

    1. As written, it’s not very hot. If you only use one pepper, you can tell that there’s peppers in it but it’s not overly warm.

      I normally use three peppers per batch now, and it’s got a kick but it’s not overpowering.

  1. Hi Katie,
    I can’t wait to try your Firestarter Jam, wow that looks awesome. Thank you so much for sharing it with Full Plate Thursday today. Hope you have a great week and come back to see us real soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

