Habanero Oil

haboil1

Heat and I are not just on speaking terms, we send each other cards on major holidays.

I’m known for three things: the canning, the knitting, and the peppers.

If I can get away with making something hot, I’ll do. I’ve been known to make hot brownies.

This oil is a way of sneaking heat into a dish without an actual pepper. Use it on meat, on a dish like drunken noodles, or in salad dressing.

Oil preserving can be a little touchy. It’s not nearly as shelf stable as canning, so make small batches and store in the fridge. Try to make a small enough amount that you can use in a week or two. Sources vary on whether or not you can store at room temperature, but I prefer to err on the side of caution and store in the fridge. Make sure everything is as dry as possible to keep as much water out of the oil as possible.

Another word of caution: habs can bite. Wear gloves while chopping or wash your hands with milk after.

Habanero Oil

1 cup olive oil

3 habaneros with the stem end removed, but not chopped

Over low heat, bring oil to 140-200 degrees. Use a candy thermometer. Drop in peppers, and let cook 10 minutes or so.

Cool slightly and carefully strain through paper towel or a kitchen cloth into a jar. Cool and store covered in the fridge.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

memories by the mile

craft dictator

carolyn’s homework

vmg206

the tasty fork

frugally sustainable

sunny simple life

One comment

  1. Yum. I love habaneros. I grow a couple of plants (in containers) on the balcony of my apartment. I love to let them dry then crush them for habanero flakes, which I put in just about everything. I’ll have to try the oil, it sounds great. (seen on Tasty Tuesday).

Leave a Reply

