The Fallen Ones

I don’t know.

I mean, I like campy, silly made for SyFy films and I think that the world ending via giant mummies is just as viable as anything else that someone can suggest.

I just don’t know how I feel about this particular attempt at ending the world via giant mummy film. It was certainly campy. And I can’t fault the acting in a movie like this, I feel like the point is partially to be bad. At least, I hope it is.

I’m just not sure that I actually enjoyed the ride on this one. I think maybe part of it is the effects-the computer work is just cheap enough that even though the film was released in 2006, the styrofoam rocks still look better than the mummy in a lot of scenes.

The Fallen Ones follows the tale of a group of archeologists and developers who find themselves digging up the mummy of a Nephilim. The Nephilim were the children produced by the union of angels and human women, and were said to have caused the great flood, at least in part. G-d wasn’t happy with these offspring; they weren’t very good people. Also as an aside, people are now suggesting that the Nephilim are reptoid aliens but that’s a completely different entry. Eventually the angel that fathered this particular Nephilim shows up and decides to both reclaim his ancient bride and bring about the destruction of humanity via giant, animated corpses.

It’s not that I think that this should have been a better movie with a plot like that. I honestly feel that the best that you can do with a storyline that looks like that is a B film. I just think that there’s a lot of B horror out there (even in the made for Syfy style genre) that I like more.

Leave a Reply

