Apple Molasses

applemolasses

I can’t in good faith call this a recipe, because it’s not.

What it is a way of preserving apples that makes your house smell like heaven on earth, and I honestly want to do this every weekend now just for the way that it made my kitchen smell.

From what I’ve read, this is an old school New England thing. The process is a lot like sugaring (though from what I remember of sugaring, this still smells better than hot maple sap). You place apple cider in a pot, then let it boil down until it’s roughly the consistency of maple syrup or honey. You use it in the same way as maple syrup or honey-in recipes, on pancakes, or in tea.

I didn’t make a lot. I had a bottle of cider in my fridge just taking up space. Neither of us were drinking it. I boiled it over medium for about an hour, which gave me about a quarter pint jar’s worth of syrup.  Mine’s hanging out in my fridge, but I’ve seen sources can it. I’m guessing that you could because apples are acidic enough to can in water, but I would really do more digging on that before you can it.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

One comment

Leave a Reply

