How to Oven Dry Your Own Peppers

peppers

Here’s the first thing, and I mean this with as much seriousness as anything I’ve ever said on this blog: you need to wear gloves when working with hot peppers. And you need to wear gloves when working with dried peppers. I don’t know why I thought that dried peppers would be different but I was wrong.

Painfully, painfully wrong.

After an hour of milk soaks, olive oil, bandaids because burns don’t like oxygen, hand washing, advil, and a shower to douse my hand in shampoo, the burn finally settled down enough that I could sleep and the burning was completely out by the time I woke up the next morning.

With that out of the way. oven drying peppers is actually really easy.

In an oven no higher than 225, layer your peppers (either cut in half or whole, I did one batch each way) on a cooling rack on a cookie sheet and let hang out in there for 3-6 hours. Make sure to watch them. They need to be brittle and not bendy at all, but my batch of whole peppers are just this side of scorched.

Crush in a blender or by hand and store in a jar.

2 comments

  1. I am so excited to have your recipe on Oven Drying Peppers. Hope you are having a great day and thanks so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

