Strawberry Vanilla Fridge Jam

jam1

I’m calling vanilla a baking spice for the month of March.

And I was out of jam for Mid’s sandwiches, so there’s that.

Honey sweet with a sort of rich smoothness from the vanilla, this is one of those beautifully simple jams that just makes a person happy. You can process it, for 10 minutes in a boiling water canner. I just didn’t because I knew I was going to be using it immediately (as in, the next day).

Do use real vanilla. As in, don’t use an imitation vanilla. It’s a lot cheaper if you just make it yourself.

I’m supposed to avoid white sugar, so I swapped out half of the white sugar I normally use for honey. I would have used raw sugar (and have used raw in canning projects before) if I had it in the house. If you scale the recipe up remember to use 1/3 cups honey in place of a cup of sugar.

Strawberry Vanilla Fridge Jam

3 cups whole strawberries

1/3 cup liquid honey

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tablespoon vanilla

1 1/2 tablespoon bottled lemon juice

Let sugars and berries macerate at least 4 hours. I let this batch sit in the fridge closer to 36 hours.

Add vanilla and lemon.

Use a potato masher or an immersion blender to process down the berries a little.

Watching closely and stirring frequently, cook over medium heat in a large saucepan for 15-20 minutes. Watch for set closely; if you dip a spoon into the jam you want it to fall off the spoon as a solid sheet and not in small individual drips. Err on the side of too soft; you can reclaim too solid jam but it’s easier to use a syrup than recook a tight jam.

Place in a jar and store in the fridge. This batch gave me a very generous 3/4 pint.

2 comments

  1. I can’t wait to put your Strawberry Vanilla Jam in my mouth, it just looks fabulous! Hope you are having a great day and thanks so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

