Black Bean Salsa

salsa

I love using fresh tomatoes when I have them, but tomatoes in March in Buffalo are a sad case indeed. Using canned tomatoes is a decent stand in because the flavor tends to be fairly consistent.

This makes a medium to hot salsa the habaneros. Or so I’ve been told, because my reading of heat is skewed. I don’t register anything as hot until it’s almost extra hot or higher (I’ve ordered dishes out as hot as the kitchen will make it). Use a cooler pepper if you don’t like that much bite.

Black Bean Salsa

1 can chopped tomatoes

1/2 can black beans

1/2 green pepper, chopped

1/2 onion, chopped

1 habanero pepper, chopped (not seeded)

1 handful mint leaves, roughly chopped

Drain both tomatoes and beans. Mix everything in a bowl. Let sit at least half an hour for the flavors to develop.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

nifty thrifty things

navy wifey peters

it’s so very cheri

vmg206

my mixing spoon

clairejustine

create with joy

titi craft

this gal cooks

the chicken chick

a pinch of joy

Leave a Reply

