Sweet Hot Pepper Relish

Sweet Hot Pepper Relish

There’s lots of small batch pepper relish recipes out in the world. They all say different things; cook for 15 minutes, cook for 30 seconds, use 1/2 cup vinegar, use 3.

This is a mish-mash of a lot of different recipes though the base brine is derived from the Complete Book of Small-Batch Preserving. The original is written for 8 cups of produce, but I had six. Remember, it’s okay to pull back on your produce-you’ll just have extra brine. Just never pull back on your acids. I left in the extra acid to account for cooking time.

I like these types of rough relishes for using up vegetables I had in the fridge. I found carrots, red chilis, habaneros, onions, and a handful of bell peppers. Use whatever vegetables you have in the fridge-this would work with no peppers at all. This actually ends up somewhere between pepper relish and chow-chow.

I have to admit, I prepped this batch more like hot pack peppers than a true relish. I didn’t soak my vegetables because I was impatient so I just went the diced pickle route.

Sweet Hot Pepper Relish

Modified from the Complete Book of Small-Batch Preserving

6-8 cups (no more than 8 eight cups) chopped vegetables, including at least a couple of hot peppers

2 cups apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup sugar

2 tbl pickling salt

1 tbl pickling spice

If you have the time and the patience, let the vegetables rest in a brine bath (see this post about soaking vegetables for relish). Otherwise, you can just pack your vegetables in a hot pack like pickles. The texture won’t be quite the same, but it’ll work.

Bring everything but the vegetables to a boil. Add vegetables, and boil between 30 seconds-10 minutes. I know that’s a really wide range, but boil to your preferred texture. Or however long it takes you to wander back to your stove. Innocent face.

Pack into prepped jars to within 1/2 inch. Use a slotted spoon, and make sure to bubble your jars.

Process for 10 minutes.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

craft dictator

memories by the mile

carolyn’s homework

vmg206

frugal by choice

six sisters stuff

cooking with curls

the chicken chick

create with joy

this gal cooks

flour me with love

clairejustine

a pinch of joy

weed em and reap

april’s homemaking

3 comments

  1. I’ve never pickled anything before, but I’ve always wanted to try it. Thanks for linking up at The Yuck Stops Here! recipe party. Hope to see you again next week.Have a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

